Comparison
Intex vs Coleman SaluSpa inflatable hot tubs
Published
Note: This page contains affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Learn more
In short
Coleman SaluSpa tubs are made by Bestway, the company behind Lay-Z-Spa, and the Palm Springs model adds an EnergySense cover, FreezeShield and app control. Intex PureSpa tubs offer Fiber-Tech walls, foam covers and built-in hard water treatment. Both listings we cover show 120 V specs, so confirm a UK 230 V version before buying either.
Products for this job
Compare all 6 productsMSpa Tidal: semi-rigid 6 seater, 930 L
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkBestway Santorini HydroJet Pro: 7 seats, 1,190 L
Check price on AmazonAffiliate linkBANGBANGJI 6 person: drop-stitch, 1,400 W heater
Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
Our verdict
Choose the Coleman Palm Springs for its insulated cover, FreezeShield and app control, or the Intex PureSpa Bubble Massage for more room and built-in hard water treatment. With either, only buy once the seller confirms a UK 230 V version.
Coleman and Intex both sell inflatable hot tubs on Amazon UK, often at similar sizes. Coleman's SaluSpa tubs are made by Bestway, so they share technology with Lay-Z-Spa, including AirJet bubbles, EnergySense covers and FreezeShield. Intex's PureSpa tubs have their own Fiber-Tech walls, PTC heaters and hard water systems. This comparison sets the Coleman Palm Springs EnergySense against the Intex PureSpa Bubble Massage, using their listings, and explains the voltage check that matters for both.
Who makes what
The Coleman name is licensed to Bestway for its SaluSpa hot tubs. The Palm Springs listing names Bestway as manufacturer and mentions the Bestway Smart Hub app, so in practice it sits close to the Lay-Z-Spa range, with similar pumps, filters and covers. Its listing even calls it the SaluSpa Miami in one bullet.
Intex is a separate company with its own PureSpa line. Its tubs use Fiber-Tech construction, a PTC heater that warms the air bubbles as well as the water, and on many models a built-in hard water treatment system.
Listing facts side by side
Both tubs are round and about 196 to 216 cm across. The table shows what each listing states.
| Fact | Coleman Palm Springs EnergySense | Intex PureSpa Bubble Massage |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Bestway | Intex |
| Seats | 4 to 6 | 4 to 6 |
| Outer size | 196 x 71 cm | 216 x 71 cm |
| Inner size | Not stated | 165 cm |
| Water capacity | Not stated in litres | About 1,100 L (290 US gal) |
| Walls | DuraPlus | Fiber-Tech |
| Jets | 120 to 140 AirJet (listing varies) | 120 bubble |
| Cover | EnergySense thermal plus standard | High density foam |
| Freeze protection | FreezeShield | Not stated |
| App control | Bestway Smart Hub | Not stated |
| Voltage in spec table | 120 V | 120 V |
The voltage check
UK mains is 230 V. Both of these listings show 120 V in the spec table, and the Coleman listing mentions US energy rules, which suggests a US model. A 120 V pump will not work safely on a UK socket without the right equipment, and a converter is not a sensible answer for a hot tub heater.
Before you order either tub, ask the seller to confirm that the pump is rated for 220 to 240 V and has a UK plug. If they cannot confirm it, choose a model sold as the UK version.
Note:Never run a hot tub pump through a voltage converter or an extension lead. Use a weatherproof outdoor socket protected by an RCD, installed by a qualified electrician if you need a new one.
Heat, insulation and winter
The Coleman's strength is its two covers, one of them an EnergySense insulated cover that Bestway says is 40% more efficient than similar spas, plus FreezeShield to protect inner parts in cold weather. The Smart Hub app also has a power saving timer.
The Intex relies on its foam cover, which Intex says improves efficiency by as much as 50%, and its PTC heater. The listing does not mention freeze protection, so check the manual before running it through winter. Our winter guide lists tubs that state freeze protection.
Water care and parts
The Intex's built-in hard water treatment is useful in much of England, where limescale builds up on heaters. With the Coleman, plan to use an anti-scale product as general guidance and follow the chemical maker's instructions.
Spare parts are easier for the Coleman in one sense, because many Bestway filters and parts are widely stocked. Intex filters are also easy to find. Check the filter type in each manual before you buy.
Which suits which garden
The Coleman is the smaller of the two at about 196 cm across, so it fits a modest patio more easily. The Intex is about 216 cm across with a 165 cm inner diameter, which gives more legroom but needs a larger, stronger base. Either way, leave space to walk round the tub and reach the pump and cover.
Work out the filled weight before choosing a base. Water weighs about 1 kg per litre, so a tub of around 1,100 litres is over a tonne before people get in. Our water volume calculator helps you check the load per square metre for your base.
Frequently asked questions
Is a Coleman SaluSpa the same as a Lay-Z-Spa? Both are made by Bestway and share technology, but models and parts are not always identical. Check part numbers in the manual.
Can I use a 120 V hot tub in the UK? Not safely without the correct equipment. Buy the UK 230 V version instead.
Which keeps heat better? The Coleman includes an EnergySense cover and FreezeShield; the Intex has a foam cover. Both lose heat through air walls in cold weather.
Which has app control? The Coleman Palm Springs lists the Bestway Smart Hub app. The Intex Bubble Massage listing does not mention an app.
What you need
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
MSpa Tidal: semi-rigid 6 seater, 930 L
- Check price on AmazonAffiliate link
MSpa Denver: frost protection and 2,200 W heater